More Links


Regent College is governed by a Board of Governors and a Senate.

The Board of Governors

The role of the Board of Governors is to oversee the business, affairs, property, and revenue of the College. The Board has the authority to govern the College’s operations, appoint the President, appoint faculty and senior staff members, and grant degrees in theology.

The Board meets three times a year: in February, June, and October.

Members of the Board of Governors

Roger Laing, Chair
Chair, Executive Committee, Board Development Committee
Vice-President, Business Unit Leader, RLG International
Calgary, AB

Barbara Armacost
Professor of Law, University of Virginia Law School
Alumna, MTS '84
Charlottesville, VA

Michael Boda
Chair, Governance Committee
Chief Electoral Officer, Province of Saskatchewan; Chief Executive Officer, Elections Saskatchewan
Regina, SK

Brent Burgess
President, Granville Advisers 
Alumnus, DipCS, MCS '93
Raleigh, NC

Connally Gilliam
Chair, Student Relations Committee
Author, Speaker, Ministry Practitioner, US Navigators
Alumna, DipCS '88; MATS '16
Washington, DC

Jeffrey Greenman
President, Regent College
Alumnus, MDiv '88
Vancouver, BC

Jim Hurlburt
Lawyer, BNSF Railway
Alumnus, DipCS '15
Fort Worth, Texas

Doug Lang
Vancouver Police Department, retired; dl Consulting Ltd.
Vancouver, BC

David Ley
Chair, Academic Affairs Committee
Professor of Geography, University of British Columbia
Vancouver, BC  

Peter Lynas
Director, Evangelical Alliance
Alumnus, MDiv '08
County Derry, Northern Ireland 

Dean Miller
Rector, Church of the Ascension
Alumnus, MDiv '99
Falls Church, VA

Earl Phillips
Lawyer and Workplace Consultant 
Vancouver, BC

Bill Stewart
Vice-President, Sales & Client Services, FinancialCAD Corporation
Alumnus, DipCS '89; MTS '90
Delta, BC  

Jonathan Tucker
Chair, Finance and Administration Committee, Audit Committee
CPA, CA, Tucker Professional Corporation
Aurora, ON

Shaila Visser
Chair, Advancement Committee
National Director, Alpha Canada; Global Executive Team, Alpha International
Vancouver, BC

Invited guests of the board

Lynne Smith
Board Coordinator
Assistant to the President, Regent College

Karen Boldt
Director of Finance, Regent College

Richard Thompson
Director of Advancement, Regent College

Bruce Hindmarsh
Faculty Representative
James Houston Professor of Spiritual Theology, Regent College

Diane Stinton
Dean of Students, Regent College

Stephen Straits
President, Regent College Student Association

The Senate

The Senate is responsible for the academic governance and educational policy of the College.

Alumni Representative

Brie Tarras
Vancouver, BC

Board Appointees

David Ley
Canada Research Chair of Geography, UBC, Vancouver, BC

Shaila Visser
National Director, Alpha Canada

Community Representative

Joshua Koh
English Ministry Pastor, Fraser Lands Church

Faculty Representatives

Ross Hastings
Associate Professor, Regent College

Iwan Russell-Jones
Associate Professor, Regent College

Phil Long
Professor, Regent College

Student Representatives

Stephen Straits
President, Regent College Student Association

Chantelle Sawatzky
Vice-President Internal, Regent College Student Association

UBC Appointee


Ex Officio

Jeffrey Greenman, Chair
President, Regent College

Paul Spilsbury
Academic Dean 

Gerry Schoberg
Senior Academic Administrator, Regent College

James Smoker, Secretary
Assistant to the Academic Dean, Regent College

Academic Committees

Academic Policy Committee

Chair: Paul Spilsbury, Academic Dean
For approval of all academic policies.

Academic Standards Committee

Chair: Gerry Schoberg
For approval of all appeals for exemption to academic policy and program requirements.

Thesis Proposal Approval Committee

Chair: Iain Provan
For approval of all MA and ThM thesis proposals.

Arts Advisory Committee

Chair: Iwan Russell-Jones
For approval of integrative project in the arts and theology proposals, and other arts-related issues.

Financial Aid Committee

Chair: Gerry Schoberg, Senior Academic Administrator
For approval of all applications for financial aid and for appeals to financial aid policy.

MDiv Committee

Chair: Ross Hastings
For approval of students progressing from the Vocational Discernment Stage to the Candidacy Stage of the MDiv program, and other MDiv-related issues.

Application for Admission

Let's Get Started

Please enter a first name.
Please enter a last name.
Please enter a valid email address.
Please enter a phone number.
Please choose the first option that applies.

Already Started an Application?

That email address does not have an active application. Please begin an application, or contact admissions staff at for help.

Want to know more about the application process?

Learn More

Fill out the form below and one of our Admissions Counsellors will be happy to contact you.

If you have any additional questions please ask them here.